top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLisa-Marie

Ever Be: 25 November


Gersh and I got married in 2017, after choosing a date in 2011. Yes, you read that right, we chose our date 5 years before Gersh even proposed. Now you're probably wondering how two 20-year-olds decided on a wedding date 5 years before. Well, we have to go back even further. To 2006.


Two Sundays after Gersh and I became a couple, his mom asked if she could take us all to lunch, so that she could get to know me. We had a lovely lunch at Spur and she asked about my family and aspirations. It was pretty cool, and I'll probably do the same in future. It made me feel welcome from the start.


But that's beside the point. That afternoon, after Spur, we headed to Gersh's grandparents in Bonteheuwel and as we pull up to their house, the radio presenter says something about November. Now me, being little Miss Chatterbox, exclaims that my parents got married in November. Gersh's mom looks at me in the rear view mirror and asks about the year, so I say 1989 and she then asks about the date. I tell her that they got married on the 25th. His mom is pretty shocked and proceeds to tell me that she got married to my now father-in-law on the exact same day! 14-year-old me was like that's pretty cool. It's probably just a weird coincidence, but it wasn't. I didn't know that then, but I know that now.


As the years went on it became clearer to us all that this was our destiny. That our love story was ordained by God from the very start. This is only one of our crazy similarities, and so choosing the date for our wedding was very easy. We now share an anniversary, which I think is pretty special, and we have an awesome story behind it, I'd say.

We got married on 25 November 2017 and we had the wedding of our dreams. It was a market style wedding and our photos were taken in and around Muizenberg. Our wedding was laid-back, we had a food truck and a gelato and coffee truck. We served burgers, chips, quesadillas and lamb arancini - all our favourites. We even had a bit of stand-up comedy! It was a jol, and I was probably one of the only brides who left her wedding after all of her guests, because I was still on the dance floor.


I wouldn't change anything about our special day and will look back to this day with the fondest memories for as long as I live.








217 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page